Wednesday, 10 March 2010 13:34

Clearwater City Council Election Results 2010

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Clearwater City HallClearwater, in a relatively small turnout on March 9th, voted to keep a city council incumbent and reelect a former city council member.

The Seat 4 race proved to be an interesting one, with four men competing for the vacant seat left by Carlen Peterson, who termed out. Three concerned citizens and political newcomers, Wayne Carothers, Joe Paige, and Herb Quintero, ran against the experienced Bill Jonson, with Jonson winning with 54.72% of the vote.

It was an uphill battle for the men who ran against Jonson, in an overcrowded race in which they were outspent and “out-experienced” by Jonson, who had formerly served on the city council. Paul Gibson, who was also running for office in the current election, had previously replaced Jonson.

Quintero came in second with 16.88%, Joe Paige with 15.44%, and lastly, Wayne Carothers with 12.96% of the vote.

Incumbent Paul Gibson fought to keep Seat 5 against business owner Mike Riordon, someone with fresh and innovative ideas for Clearwater. Ultimately, Gibson won with 57.26% of the vote. Riordon showed possibly the most growth as a candidate throughout the campaign season.

A Charter Amendment on the ballot changing how city auditors would be hired was defeated with 59.77% voting against.

A City Council Oath Session will be held on March 18th at City Hall.

Read 2140 times